The Monfort Family Foundation established the Monfort Professors Program to help CSU recruit and retain talented faculty members. Each year, two faculty members are selected as Monfort Professors by a committee appointed by the Provost.  They retain this designation for two years, and receive $50,000 per year to further their teaching and research. CSU faculty have continually achieved tremendous results with the funding. Monfort Professors describe the award as “powerful,” “invaluable,” and “transformative.” It transcends the limitations of other funders and allows CSU’s most innovative young faculty to propel their careers and greatly strengthen CSU in the process. The Monfort Professorship also touches hundreds of others, such as postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, undergraduates, lab partners, and others, by advancing their studies and careers.

2021-2023 [press release]

  • Emily Fischer, Department of Atmospheric Science
  • Lauren Shomaker, Department of Human Development and Family Studies

2020-2023 [press release]

  • Tom Dunn, Department of Communication Studies
  • Meagan Schipanski, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences

2019-2022 [press release]

  • Amber Krummel, Department of Chemistry
  • Tim Stasevich, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

2018-2020 [press release]

  • Jeff Pierce, Department of Atmospheric Science
  • George Wittemyer, Department of Fish, Wildlife & Conservation Biology

2017-2019 [press release]

  • Melissa Reynolds, Department of Chemistry
  • Kim Hoke, Department of Biology


  • Sudeep Pasricha, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Shrideep Pallickara, Department of Computer Science


  • Susan van den Heever, Department of Atmospheric Science
  • Subhas Karan Venayagmoorthy, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering


  • Shane Hentges, Department of Biomedical Sciences
  • Kelly Martin, Department of Marketing

2013-2015 [press release] 

  • Amy Prieto, Department of Chemistry
  • Dan Beachy-Quick, Department of English

 2012-2014 [press release]

  • Scott Earley, Department of Biomedical Science
  • John McKay, Department of Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management

 2011-2013 [press release]

  • Jennifer DeLuca, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Christian Puttlitz, Department of Mechanical Engineering


  • Kevin Crooks, Department of Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology
  • Sammy Zahran, Department of Economics


  • Frank Dinenno, Department of Health and Exercise Science
  • Jacob Roberts, Department of Physics


  • Rajiv Khosla, Department of Agricultural Science
  • Venkatesan Manivannan, Department of Engineering


  • Randy Bartels, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • David Thompson, Department of Atmospheric Science


  • N. LeRoy Poff, Department of Biology
  • Tomislav Rovis, Department of Chemistry


  • Karolin Luger, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Ranil Wickramasinghe, Department of Chemical Engineering


  • John Belisle, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology
  • Kathleen Pickering, Department of Anthropology


  • A. Scott Denning, Department of Atmospheric Science
  • Yian Shi, Department of Chemistry